masonic lodge info

| world | europe | americas | africa | asia | oceania |
| museums | libraries | down-load magazines | subscription magazines | blogspots |
| private lodges | research lodges | study circles | collectors & clubs | glossary | links |

B E Y O N D    T H E    C R A F T

| Glossary | Dictionary | Beyond |




The administration of this degree varies greatly from jurisdiction to jurisdiction, though in all jurisdictions, the candidate is required to be a Master Mason to be eligible for this degree.

In England, India, and parts of Europe and Australasia, the Mark Degree is conferred in separately warranted Lodges under the Grand Lodge of Mark Master Masons. The candidate for advancement is required to be a Master Mason. In England and Wales, the governing body is The Grand Lodge of Mark Master Masons of England and Wales and its Districts and Lodges Overseas , which also controls the Royal Ark Mariner degree; conferred in separately warranted Royal Ark Mariner Lodges.

In Scotland, the Mark Degree is conferred in a Craft Lodge and is seen as completion of the Fellow Craft Degree, although the Candidate is required to be a Master Mason.  The degree may alternatively, and exceptionally, be conferred in a Holy Royal Arch Chapter as a prerequisite for exaltation to the HRA.

In Western Australia, the Mark Master's Degree is conferred in a Royal Arch Chapter operating under the Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Western Australia, and is conferred as part of the process of Exaltation to the Holy Royal Arch Degree. In Queenland Australia, the Mark Master's Degree can be conferred by a Royal Arch Chapter under the Supreme Grand Chapter of Queensland or by a Mark Master mason's lodge under the Grand Lodge of Mark Master masons in Queensland. His entry into the Chapter is preceded by a short ceremony of Mark Lodge Affiliation, if the candidate has already been advanced into the Mark degree.

Under the United Grand Lodge of NSW and the ACT the Mark Man ceremony is not treated as a degree at all and is only conferred in a warranted craft lodge with te Mark Master degree conferred in a Warranted Mark Master lodge.

The Mark Man ceremony is commonly believed to be the contents of what was removed from the second degree to shorten it.

In North and South America, and parts of Europe and Australasia the Mark Master Mason degree is conferred as part of Royal Arch Masonry which is included in the York Rite.

In Greece, the Grand Lodge of Mark Master Masons of Greece and its Lodges Overseas is an independent Masonic Body, but at the same time is very closely affiliated with the "National Grand Lodge of Greece" from which its members are mainly drawn.


The Masonic Order of Athelstan portrays the story of a Master Mason being called to York in 926 AD to receive the Ancient Charges from the king. Throughout its ceremony the ritual contains a great deal of symbolism that is still seen in some Lodges today and a great deal that is not currently worked. It culminates with an historical oration which takes the candidate through the development of the various Grand Lodges ending at 1813 with the formation of the United Grand Lodge of England.

The Order, in England and Wales, is structured so that its Provinces, wherever possible, reflect and represent the original Kingdoms and Gilds (original spelling of Guilds) as they were set up by King Athelstan during his reign as "The First King of all the English". 

The aim of the Masonic Order of Athelstan is to encourage and prompt its members into actual further study and research. As such each candidate is carefully chosen due to their interest in Masonic history and is ‘Instructed’ into our Order.

Membership of our Order is strictly invitational and members are expected to take a wide and committed interest in all aspects of freemasonry, there are therefore mandatory requirements for each member to have current, active and ongoing membership of both Craft and Royal Arch Chapter Masonry. 


After the Craft, the Royal Order of Scotland is the oldest Masonic Order.  There are no reliable records tracing the history of the Order from its alleged revival in 1314, until the middle of the 18th century, when it appears to have flourished in France from 1735 to 1740. The principal practitioners at this time were the adherents of the Jacobite cause, who, being refugees from Scotland, no doubt practised these degrees for the purpose of maintaining a common bond of union in a strange land.
The Royal Order comprises two Degrees: - The Degree of Heredom of Kilwinning and the Knighthood of the Rosy Cross.
Tradition informs us, that the Rosy Cross Degree originated on the field of Bannockburn on Summer Saint John's Day in the year 1314, and was instituted by Robert The Bruce, who, in the battle for Scottish independence, having received signal assistance from a body of Freemasons conferred upon them the Civil rank of Knighthood, as a reward for their loyal services. To ensure the continuance of the Order, he granted those Knights authority to confer the Knighthood of the Rosy Cross on such Scottish Freemasons professing the Christian faith as has proved them-selves worthy of this high honour.

The Constitution of the Royal Order decrees the King of the Scots to be the hereditary Grand Master for whom, at every meeting of the Royal Order wherever held, a vacant seat or throne must be placed at the right hand of the Presiding Officer.  In the absence of a reigning Monarch the acting head of the Order is the Deputy Grand Master and Governor who, from July 2009,  is Sir Archibald D. Orr Ewing, Bart., M.A.
The Grand Lodge in Edinburgh controls the 81 Provincial Grand Lodges situated in many parts of the world.
The Ritual has remained unchanged for over 260 years and is recited almost entirely in irregular rhyming form.

Membership of this Christian Order is highly prized and is by strict invitation.


An Honorary and Invitational Body Dedicated to Masonic Research

The Allied Masonic Degrees are detached degrees which, many years ago, were conferred under Craft Warrants and formed a part of the loosely governed Freemasonry which afterward eliminated all save the three Craft degrees and the Royal Arch. All old references to the Royal Arch were invariably to the "Excellent Super Excellent Royal Arch Masons," which comprised three grades. The Super Excellent has long since been discontinued, save in the veil-working of Irish Royal Arch Chapters, while the Excellent Master is a predicant to the Royal Arch in Scotch Chapters and is worked in English Councils of Royal and Select Masters.

The other degrees, likewise, were worked in Craft Lodges in both America and the British Isles. When Freemasonry discontinued the working of outside degrees, these degrees became practically dormant, although they were perpetuated and finally formed their own supreme heads, in many instances. They were finally together under a governing head and hence the title of "Allied Masonic Degrees;" they have been allied together for mutual benefit and perpetuation.

For any enquiries concerning the technical content of the site, please contact  the Web Editor on 

© mli ~ 2002-2014 ~ all rights reserved

UPDATED: 22 APR 2013