masonic lodge info

| world | europe | americas | africa | asia | oceania |
| museums | libraries | down-load magazines | subscription magazines | blogspots |
| private lodges | research lodges | study circles | collectors & clubs | glossary | links |


"How many countries are in the world?" - Different sources yield different answers; this list has 196 There are 193 members of the United Nations but the Vatican City and Kosovo are two recognised independent countries. Then there is Taiwan which meets the independent country status yet it fails to be recognised by the international community; although it was a member of the UN until 1971.  There are also many territories and colonies that are sometimes erroneously called 'countries'; yet they are governed by other countries - for example, Puerto Rico, Bermuda, Greenland; as too components of the United Kingdom - England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland.

The names on this list do not reflect the 'official' name of the country; just a conventional use.

click on the name of the country
for additional information on the
Geography, History, Capital, Flag
from the web-site  -  "InfoPlease"

click on the   or    or 
for masonic information
in the country or territory

click on the  
for information on
Colonies & Dependencies

A - 11

Afghanistan   Albania    Algeria
Andorra   Angola Antigua & Barbuda
Argentina Armenia Australia     



B - 17

Bahamas             Bahrain Bangladesh
Barbados Belarus Belgium  
Belize Benin   Bhutan
Bolivia Bosnia & Herzegovina   Botswana 
Brazil Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria  
Burkina Faso   Burundi  



C - 18

Cambodia Cameroon Canada  
Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad
Chile   China Colombia   
Comoros Congo   Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Costa Rica   Côte d'Ivoire  Croatia  
Cuba     Cyprus         Czech Republic  

D - 4

Denmark      Djibouti Dominica
Dominican Republic    

E - 7

Ecuador   Egypt El Salvador  
Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia    



F - 3

Fiji Finland   France    

G - 11

Gabon   Gambia, The Georgia
Germany   Ghana       Greece       
Grenada Guatemala Guinea  
Guinea-Bissau Guyana  



H - 3

Haiti   Honduras   Hungary   

I - 8

Iceland   India          Indonesia
Iran   Iraq Ireland    
Israel   Italy                      

J - 3

Jamaica Japan   Jordan

K - 8

Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati
Korea, North Korea, South Kosovo
Kuwait Kyrgyzstan  

L - 9

Laos Latvia       Lebanon  
Lesotho Liberia   Libya
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg     

M - 19

Macedonia      Madagascar   Malawi
Malaysia Maldives Mali  
Malta      Marshall Islands Mauritania
Mauritius        Mexico   Micronesia
Moldova   Monaco   Mongolia
Montenegro Morocco   Mozambique  
Myanmar (Burma)    

N - 9

Namibia     Nauru Nepal
The Netherlands      New Zealand         Nicaragua
Niger   Nigeria    Norway     


Northern Ireland        

O - 1


P - 9

Pakistan Palau Panama  
Papua New Guinea Paraguay   Peru  
The Philippines   Poland    Portugal   


Puerto Rico     Palestinian State  

Q - 1


R - 3

Romania    Russia      Rwanda

S - 25

St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grenadines
Samoa San Marino        São Tomé & Príncipe
Saudi Arabia Senegal   Serbia      
Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Slovakia   Slovenia   Solomon Islands
Somalia South Africa       Spain        
Sri Lanka Sudan South Sudan
Suriname Swaziland Sweden  
Switzerland   Syria  



T - 12

Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania
Thailand       Timor-Leste (East Timor)  Togo  
Tonga Trinidad & Tobago Tunisia
Turkey   Turkmenistan Tuvalu

U - 7

Uganda Ukraine   United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom      United States       Uruguay

V - 4

Vanuatu Vatican City (Holy See) Venezuela  



W - 0

There are only territories beginning with a W - Western Sahara, Wales


Wales   Western Sahara  

X - 0

There is no country beginning with an X

Y - 1


Z - 2

Zambia Zimbabwe  

For any enquiries concerning the technical content of the site, please contact  the Web Editor on 

© mli ~ 2002-2017 ~ all rights reserved

UPDATED: 23 OCT 2016